The clay in the hands of the Potter

 But now, O Lord , you are our Father; we are the clay, and you are our potter; we are all the work of your hand.
Isaiah 64:8 ESV

        hand-1651855_1280 The word which came to Jeremiah from the Lord , saying: Then I went down to the potter’s house, and there he was, making something at the wheel. And the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter; so he made it again into another vessel, as it seemed good to the potter to make. “O house of Israel, can I not do with you as this potter?” says the Lord . “Look, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are you in My hand, O house of Israel!
Jeremiah 18:1‭, ‬3‭-‬4‭, ‬6 NKJV

The story is told of a couple who went to England to celebrate their 25th wedding anniversary and shopped at a beautiful antique store. They both liked antiques and pottery,and especially tea-cups,and so spotting an exceptional cup,they asked “May we see that? We’ve never seen a cup quite so beautiful.”cup-2001094__480

As the lady handed it to them, suddenly the tea-cup spoke… “You don’t understand.” It said, “I have not always been a tea-cup. There was a time when I was just a lump of red clay. My master took me and rolled me pounded and patted me over and over and I yelled out, Don’t do that. I don’t like it! “Let me alone,” but he only smiled, and gently said; “Not yet!!” “Then, WHAM! I was placed on a spinning wheel and suddenly I was spun around and around and around. “Stop it! I’m getting so dizzy! I’m going to be sick!” I screamed.

But the master only nodded and said, quietly; ‘Not yet.’

He spun me and poked and prodded and bent me out of shape to suit himself and then…he put me in the oven. I never felt such heat. I yelled and knocked and pounded at the door.

“Help! Get me out of here!” ‘Not yet.’ When I thought I couldn’t bear it another minute, the door opened. He carefully took me out and put me on the shelf, and I began to cool.

Oh, that felt so good! “Ah, this is much better,” I thought. But, after I cooled he picked me up and he brushed and painted me all over. The fumes were horrible.. “Oh, please, Stop it! Stop it!” I cried. He only shook his head and said. “Not yet…”

Then suddenly he put me back into the oven. Only it was not like the first time. This time it was twice as hot and I just knew I would suffocate. I begged… I pleaded… I screamed…I cried… I was convinced I would never make it. I was ready to give up and just then the door opened and he took me out and again placed me on the shelf, where I cooled and waited and waited, wondering “What’s he going to do to me next?”

An hour later he handed me a mirror and said “Look at yourself.”

And I did… I said, “That’s not me, that couldn’t be me. It’s beautiful. I’m beautiful!”

Quietly he spoke: “I want you to remember, then,” he said, “I know it hurt to be rolled and pounded and patted, but had I just left you alone, you’d have dried up. I know it made you dizzy to spin around on the wheel, but if I had stopped, you would have crumbled.

“I know it hurt and it was hot and disagreeable in the oven, but if I hadn’t put you there, you would have cracked. I know the fumes were bad when I brushed and painted you all over, but if I hadn’t done that, you never would have hardened. You would not have had any color in your life.

“And if I hadn’t put you back in that second oven, you wouldn’t have survived for long because the hardness would not have held. Now you are a finished product. Now you are what I had in mind when I first began with you.” (Author unknown)

greece-1129254_1280

 

 

 

 

 

As we live our lives for our blessed Master, let’s determine to be yielded clay in His hands. Let’s allow Him to find us, clean out all the impurities from our lives, and shape us into a vessel He can use. Let’s not complain when we find ourselves in God’s furnace. Rather, let’s allow the fire to do its work and then go forth to serve Him as beautiful vessels fit for the Master’s use.

God, the Master Potter, is longing for each of us to yield to Him so He can shape us into beautiful vessels to be used in His kingdom. Will you continue to resist His will, causing pain and heartache to both Him and you? Or will you surrender your will to His desires and be a useful vessel for Him? The choice is yours!

(Bible Helps)

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. arbevmo says:

    Amen, very helpful. Thanks and God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cristina says:

      You are welcome! Thank you for your comment. Blessings!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

A Pearl of Great Price

More Precious Than Gold

Chministry

This site is about EDIFYING others to be the best they can be, and to encouraged them to carry out God's PURPOSE for their life, by walking in their CALLING, and ultimately fulfilling their DESTINY.

His Perfect Timing

My Incredible Journey with God

Call 2 Witness

A Bible Study Ministry

FOR JESUS FIRST LOVED ME

The main thing is...always remember that Jesus loves you!

Fearless

Diagnosis of a Chronic Disease Turned My World Upside Down

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

Scott's Blog

Jesus be with you

Grace and Truth

"For the Law was given by Moses, Grace and Truth came through Jesus Christ" (John 1:17)

Cross of Christ

By whom the world is crucified to me, and I to the world

bjsscribbles

“Trusting God turns the deepest crisis into the highest praise.”

C.C. Brown

Christian blogging with a real life twist.

JonahzSong

Writings & Ramblings

The Living Message of Christ

The Truth of the Living Word, Jesus

Biblical Beginnings

Christian, wife, mom, homeschooler, traveller

CHOMSKYWEB

TO CHOOSE TO WRITE IS TO REFUSE TO BE SILENT

Ray Comfort's Daily Evidence

Snippets from The Evidence Bible--now in NKJV

Pursuing my Own Path

To simplicity and beyond...by way of Italy

My Bible Reading, Listening and Living

revelations and reflections from my daily devotion

Mitch Teemley

The Power of Story

