THE ROAD LESS TRAVELLED

1497098313787_image.jpg

 

Christianity is not an easy road. It is actually the hardest road to travel. Why do I make such a statement? because as Christians we walk against a tide of people going in the opposite dirección. Is tough my friend, is not easy.

We live in the world but are not of the world, friendship with the world makes us enemies of God. We are commanded to love our enemies, but if we are really honest sometimes we just want to throw stones at people.  If we walk in the truth of God we are going to find much resistance.

Have you ever been tempted to let it all go? tempted with the suggestion to give it all up?  tempted to relax and just go with the crowd?, I have!  when I foolishly succumbed to this wicked notion for a minute fraction of time I experienced a false sweet sense of release. Straight from the pit of hell of course. But quickly I returned to my senses and repented of having entertained such an evil thought.

Is a lonely road friend. In my daily interactions I find it to be the road less travelled. The road less wanted.

And so this evening the reality of my Christian walk hit me really hard.  It happenend when I began browsing through my photo album.  Photo after photo displaying the happy faces of my family.  Husband, children, grandchildren, siblings, step dad and extended family. Memories flooding in of our times spent together, fun times, delighting in their smiles, seeing the joy in their happy faces. Pictures and videos demonstrating their love and affection. Immediately a sadness took hold of my soul as I remembered that everyone of them is walking in darkness, with the exception of my oldest grandson, the rest of my family are blinded to the only one that can save them from God’s wrath and judgement. Their apathy or lack of interest in hearing the truth grieves me deeply. Even more so tonight as I looked at their photos.

Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.” Psalm 42.

These words echoed in my heart as I looked at my loved ones. HOPE, we have hope in every situation no matter how bad it looks. HOPE that God will intervine and turn things around. HOPE walks with us on the hard road we travel. Our faith gives us hope to keep going.

As we allow His Word to live in us we know we do not walk the road alone. The Holy Spirit walks with us revealing Jesus, giving us hope as we call out “Abba Father”.

Blessings of hope until we see Him face to face.

Cristina

IMG_0017

Leave a Reply

