As The Years Go By….

  Agatha Christie wrote on one occasion that she married an archaeologist. And someone asked, “Why would you marry an archaeologist?” to which she replied, “Because the older I get the more he’ll appreciate me.”

3-5

With  age come wisdom.  God’s Word has much to say about getting older. Job 32:7 we read  “Days should speak, and multitude of years should teach wisdom.” (KJV) and in Proverbs 16:31 “Gray hair is a crown of glory    it is gained in a righteous life (ESV) and “Those that be planted in the house of the LORD shall flourish in the courts of our God.
They shall still bring forth fruit in old age; they shall be fat and flourishing; To shew that the LORD is upright: he is my rock, and there is no unrighteousness in him”. Psalm 92:13-15.KJV.

 Even though our society celebrates youth and scorns aging, getting older is a natural process designed by God. You don’t have to fear aging. In fact, if you embrace the reality of getting older and invite God to lead you through the process, you’ll discover that this season in your life can be a beautiful and satisfying one. (The Beauty of Aging Karen O’Connor).

I wanted to write this post about getting older because I see so much fear today, specially in women. I have heard it say that they rather “die” than get old. These women’s hope is placed on their looks. Thousands of dollars are spent on keeping the body young. (Only the outside of course…). It saddens me to see the futility of their actions.  The prison of deception they are under. I constantly pray for opportunities to share my faith. How my heart grieves.

When we come to Christ the Bible says ” we are a new creation”, how true. We see things in a different perspective. We learn in Ecclesiastes 3:1 “To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven”,  a time to be young and a time to be not so young !! but with  years come many blessings.

Grandchildren is one of them, God says in His Word that children are a blessing,  I say grandchildren must be the double portion of blessing. I am so grateful that I am able to speak into my oldest grandchild’s life ( he is 13 years old) the things of God. With the direction our world is taking and the things being taught in schools today I thank God everyday for allowing me opportunities to minister to him. The other grandchildren are still too young but what a privilege that I can storm the gates of heaven on their behalf and God hears me.     Another blessing is  being able to help younger women to grow in the Lord as we read in Titus 2: “Older women likewise are to be reverent in behavior, not slanderers or slaves to much wine. They are to teach what is good,  and so train the young women to love their husbands and children,  to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be reviled”

God will not forsake us not even in our older age: “Now also when I am old and grey headed, O God, forsake me not; until I have shewed thy strength unto this generation, and thy power to every one that is to come.” (Psalm 71:18)I find it very encouraging to remember that, as long as the Lord preserves our  lives , He has some ministry for us to perform for this generation and to every one that is to come.”

558556giap5wcg08

A grandmother’s special calling is to pray and to be a fellow worker in the battle in which her children or her grandchildren are engaged.”
– Elisabeth Elliott.
When somebody said to a Christian minister, “I suppose you are on the wrong side of
fifty?” “No,” he said, “thank God, I am on the right side of fifty, for I am sixty, and am
therefore nearer heaven.” Old age should never be looked upon with dismay by us; it
should be our joy. Charles Spurgeon.

 

v7ung7.GIF

One Comment Add yours

  1. mimionlife says:

    As a breast cancer survivor, I am thankful for each birthday. 🙂 Age is just a number.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

